DAC Open Studios artist: Erica S. Nazzaro

Look for Erica S. Nazzaro at the Dorchester Arts Collaborative Open Studios, which takes place on Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 23 and 24, from noon to 5 p.m., at various locations throughout Dorchester.

Erica has attended Open Studios for as long as they have been held. She has worked in Dorchester for the past seven years. It has been her goal to be a participant in Open Studios, rather than just an observer. And this year she will be, along with some other young artists she plans to showcase.

She graduated from School of the Museum of Fine Arts in 1984. For the past 16 years, she has been making her own cards. It is not a business yet, but it may be someday, she says.

We asked her about her work. Here’s what she shared:

“I am a social worker and an artist. I combine my background in teaching art and art therapy with the work I do as a social worker.  I believe in expressive therapy as a vehicle for healing.

“I have been doing art my whole life. Currently I do collage, jewelry making, photography and pastel drawing. Most of my life I have been a painter. I love working with pastels (plein air style) currently because it makes me feel entirely present in the moment.  Being connected with nature and creating art are the things that bring me the most freedom and contentment.

“I would describe my work as trying to capture a feeling rather than the representational aspect of the image.

“I joined Open Studios in Dorchester because I want to showcase art that is created by the youth that I know.”

The artwork that will be shown at 88-98 Nightingale Street is part of The Home for Little Wanderers Young Adult Resource Network’s creative side. Erica works at The Home for Little Wanderers, so the exhibition venue is very special to her.

“I plan to have some music, poetry, and visual art to display,” she says.  “We have found that expressing ourselves creatively can be a healing process as well as empowering.”

Leave a comment